Members Directory > McDonald Hopkins LLC

Attorney Insight. Business Foresight.®
As McDonald Hopkins approaches its 90th anniversary in 2020, we are continuing our commitment to providing insight for the challenges at hand, and foresight for the next generation of business. We have thrived as a law firm because of our long-lasting relationships with businesses and individuals who share our entrepreneurial spirit. We work best with people who understand that it takes passion and hard work to build a successful business from the ground up. Our attorneys and professionals continue to help clients navigate some of the most challenging and timely issues affecting their businesses. As the times change and world evolves, we vow to continue to innovate, grow, and embrace new ways of doing business.

Business Law Department
James E. Stief, Chair

When you are looking for legal services, you want attorneys who care as much about your business’ success as you do. With our firm, you have the expertise of more than 140 attorneys in multiple disciplines at your disposal to assist you in guiding your business. This means you get strategic counseling and legal advice customized to meet your needs. Our attorneys capitalize on years of experience and creative problem solving to help your business overcome its challenges and achieve success.

Business Restructuring Services Department
David Agay is Co-Chair
Stephen Gross is Co-Chair

Business restructuring is just that: a business restructuring, not simply a legal issue. When you are restructuring your business, you need business-based solutions. And, if you are a lender, creditor or a potential buyer, you want someone with experience on both ends of the table who can guide you through the process. Our focus is on efficiently providing advice on your situation and assisting you in achieving the optimal result – even in a difficult environment. We have one of the largest and most sophisticated bankruptcy and restructuring practices focused on the middle-market. Because restructuring often requires other expertise, we work as a team with you, your other advisors and the other experienced professionals at our firm to provide the most complete business and legal advice.

Intellectual Property Department
David P. Cupar, Chair

The singular focus of our intellectual property department is to help our clients stay a step ahead. We provide powerful, cutting-edge legal and business expertise across all facets of intellectual property law. Our team of experienced intellectual property attorneys delivers a comprehensive range of innovative solutions and insightful industry expertise across a diverse group of technical disciplines. Every client’s needs and goals are different – but with our hands-on, in-depth approach you get a team of attorneys who understand your business and provide customized service designed to meet your needs. With extensive bench strength and by employing the latest technology and strategies in the courtroom, we are able to consistently deliver cost-effective results to a wide range of clients, including multinational corporations, publicly and privately held companies, entrepreneurs and individuals.

Litigation Department
James J. Giszczak, Chair

Our lawyers have tried – and won – virtually every manner of litigation dispute. With extensive bench strength and by employing the latest technology and strategies in the courtroom, we are able to consistently deliver cost-effective results to a wide range of clients, including multinational corporations, publicly and privately held companies, entrepreneurs and individuals. Our firm includes interdisciplinary teams of attorneys with particular experience handling specific types of litigation.

Tax and Benefits Department
Jeffrey P. Consolo, Chair

Tax planning needs to be strategic. Working together with other advisors, we help clients develop comprehensive business and tax plans , identifying the most effective solutions to meet financial goals. Our experience in all areas of federal, state and local taxation gives us the ability to provide strategic counseling when assisting with tax-related legal issues.

For more information, visit: mcdonaldhopkins.com
To learn about McDonald Hopkins’ 90th anniversary, visit: mcdonaldhopkins.com/mh2020

URL: http://www.mcdonaldhopkins.com
Firm Contacts
Carl J. Grassi Carl J. Grassi
Email: cgrassi@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Telephone: 216.348.5448

Practice Groups:
ESOPs

ILN Specialty Groups:
Estate Planning:Estates & Trusts, Tax Law

William J. O'Neill William J. O'Neill
Email: woneill@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Telephone: 216.348.5755

Practice Groups:
Labor and employment litigation

ILN Specialty Groups:
Labor & Employment, Litigation, Medical Device and Drug Manufacturing Litigation

Partners Practice Groups Telephone E-mail Address
David A Agay Business restructuring 312.642.2217 dagay@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Todd C. Baumgartner Long-term care and senior living 216.348.5737 tbaumgartner@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Teresa Metcalf Beasley Public Law 216.348.5713 tbeasley@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Todd A. Benni Intellectual Property 216.348.5712 tbenni@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Patrick J. Berry Mergers and Acquisitions 216.348.5409 pberry@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Richard H. Blake Government compliance, investigations and white collar defense 216.348.5839 rblake@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James J. Boutrous, II Trade secret, non-compete and unfair competition 248.220.1355 jboutrous@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Alan M. Burger Business Counseling 561.472.2963 aburger@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Marc J. Carmel Business Restructuring 312.642.1484 mcarmel@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jeffrey P. Consolo Tax and Benefits 216.348.5805 jconsolo@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Christal L. Contini Mergers and Acquisitions 216.430.2020 ccontini@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Richard S. Cooper Healthcare 216.348.5438 rcooper@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David B. Cupar Intellectual Property 216.430.2036 dcupar@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James J. Giszczak Data privacy & cybersecurity 248.220.1354 jgiszczak@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Carl J. Grassi ESOPs 216.348.5448 cgrassi@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Stephen M. Gross Automotive restructuring 248.220.1337 sgross@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David Gunning II Real estate 216.430.2026 dgunning@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David K. Hales Real estate 216.430.2010 dhales@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Brian J. Jereb Estate Planning 216.348.5810 bjereb@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David M. Kall Business counseling 216.348.5812 dkall@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michelle F. Kantor Government contracting and procurement 312.642.6482 mkantor@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jordan Koss Startups - VC 312.642.2213 jkoss@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael G. Latiff Business litigation 248.220.1351 mlatiff@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Dan L. Makee Energy Litigation 216.348.5731 dmakee@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Dan L. Makee Business Litigation 216-348-5731 dmakee@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Sean D. Malloy Business restructuring 216.348.5436 smalloy@mcdonaldhopkins.com
John T. Metzger Real Estate 561.659.1799 jmetzger@mcdonaldhopkins.com
David T. Movius Intellectual Property 216.430.2029 dmovius@mcdonaldhopkins.com
William J. O'Neill Labor and employment litigation 216.348.5755 woneill@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Scott N. Opincar Distressed M&A 216.348.5753 sopincar@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Dominic A. Paluzzi Data privacy and cybersecurity 248.220.1356 dpaluzzi@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Benjamin D. Panter Executive compensation and governance 312.642.4087 bpanter@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Ilirjan Pipa Securities 216.348.5444 ipipa@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Owen P. Quinn Construction Litigation 312.642.4967 oquinn@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Matthew R. Rechner Energy Litigation 216.348.5826 mrechner@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Shawn M. Riley Healthcare restructuring 216.348.5773 sriley@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Miriam L. Rosen Labor and employment counseling 248.220.1342 mrosen@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Jason M. Smith Commercial finance 216.430.2033 jsmith@mcdonaldhopkins.com
James E. Stief Commercial Finance 216.430.2031 jstief@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Elizabeth Sullivan Healthcare 216.348.5401 esullivan@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Dale R. Vlasek Employee benefits, ESOPs 216.348.5452 dvlasek@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Peter D. Welin Construction litigation 614.484.0701 pwelin@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael W. Wise Energy 216430.2034 mwise@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Michael P. Witzke Family and closely held business counseling 248.646.5070 mwitzke@mcdonaldhopkins.com
Office Locations
Cleveland, Ohio (Main Location)
600 Superior Avenue E.
Suite 2100
Cleveland, Ohio 44114-2653 USA
Telephone: +1 (216) 348-5400
Facsimile: +1 (216) 348-5474
Miami, Florida
Southeast Financial Center
200 South Biscayne Blvd., Suite 2600
Miami, Florida 33131 USA
Telephone: (305) 704-3990
Facsimile: (305) 704-3999
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
West Palm Beach, Florida
505 S. Flagler Drive
Suite 300
West Palm Beach, Florida 33401 USA
Telephone: (561) 472-2121
Facsimile: (561) 472-2122
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
Chicago, Illinois
300 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 1400
Chicago, Illinois 60654 USA
Telephone: (312) 280-0111
Facsimile: (312) 280-8232
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
39533 Woodward Avenue, Suite 318
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan 48304 USA
Telephone: (248) 646-5070
Facsimile: (248) 646-5075
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
Columbus, Ohio
250 West Street
Suite 550
Columbus, Ohio 43215 USA
Telephone: (614) 458-0025
Facsimile: (614) 458-0028
Contact: Carl J. Grassi
 
Search By Firm Name